A 180/360-Degree Turn in My Life

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Change, Family, K-LOVE, Life, Management, Work
Tags: , , , , ,

Ever hear someone describe a change in their life by saying, “In the last year, my life has done a 360″?  Like a 360-degree turn. What they usually mean to say is that their life has done “a 180.”  I ain’t so good in math (or grammar), but a 360-degree turn gets you right back where you started.  It’s a circle.  180-degree turn would symbolize more of a change or reversal in your life.

You can put away your protractors for now.  Now on to English …

You see, I’m always fascinated at looking at a life and seeing progress.  How a person went from one place to another.  Seeing how maybe at one point there was confusion or hurt or frustration and then see how their life changed over time.  How God ordered their steps over the course of a month, a year or a lifetime.  I do that with my own life a lot.

This past Saturday would have marked my 10-year anniversary with K-LOVE.  I left on July 29th, so just about month shy of 10 years exactly.  It was 10 amazing years that I will forever be grateful and thankful for.  When I look back 10 years, it’s interesting to see where I was when I first started with K-LOVE.  But looking back a bit farther to where I was before I joined K-LOVE is even more interesting.

I guess you could say I went through somewhat of a painful break-up with my previous employer.  In the big picture of life, it wasn’t horrible.  There are people who have and will deal with much, much more difficult situations than I went through.  I have that perspective now, but at the time it was hard.

Before K-LOVE, I worked for WONU (“Shine.FM) – the radio station owned by Olivet Nazarene University.  ONU is where I went to school years prior to that.  It’s where I got my degree.  It’s where I met some of my closest friends.  It’s where I met my wife.  In short, it was a significant part of my life.  So departing there 10 years ago was hard.  And frankly, it was a wound that took time to heal.

When God closes one door, he opens another.  I was able to begin a new journey with K-LOVE that took me and my family to California and where God was able to exceed my wildest dreams with the opportunities I was provided working there.  I started out in lower management (not even mid-management) and ended up working on the K-LOVE morning show.  As Christian music radio stages go, there is nothing bigger.  I guess you could say my life did an amazing 180-degree turn during that time.

The K-LOVE morning show took me to Indianapolis (much easier to do a national morning show from the Eastern time zone, than in California – 6am Eastern, beats 3am Pacific).  And then after 2 years, the show came to a close.  But then a new door opened.  Or was it an old door?

In the weeks prior to me leaving K-LOVE, an old friend of mine at WONU/Shine.FM called me to say they were branching out into a new market – Indianapolis.  The rest, as they say, is history.

Today, one month to the day of my last K-LOVE Morning Show (and almost 10 years to my exact start date at K-LOVE), I went back on the air at Shine.FM.  God’s ways and timing, our definitely not our ways.

It was the healing of a wound.  It was a change, but it was also a return to back where I started.

It was like my life did 180-degree, 360-degree turn.  And yes, that’s what I meant to say.

Comments
  1. diane says:

    Congrats, Eric! God’s ways and timing are so very perfect; you had just enough time to attempt some things on the “honey-do” list (and to remember that’s not your gifting, LOL) and recharge and revitalize before picking up the new challenge He laid before you. Many blessings to you in your new (old) job!

  2. Tracy says:

    Congratulations, Eric! This just goes to show, you never know how God will move in your life, always forwards, but sometimes backwards at the same time. :)

  3. Lizzy says:

    Congrats! I’m in Indianapolis and can’t wait to listen to you again!

  4. Lisa says:

    How exciting, Eric! I love seeing God’s perfect timing being played out – in someone else’s life. :) Sometimes it’s harder to see when it’s our own lives. Congratulations!

  5. Carol Zurbuchen says:

    I read your “essay” with great interest. I am a friend of your mother’s, and by the way, you are so fortunate to have her as your mother. I know how she feels your every pain when these unfortunate turns happen in your life. And she prays for God to intervene for you and your family.
    We have been together in a Bible Study for a few years now, and we pray for each others needs and concerns. It thrills me to hear how God is working for the good in a life when sometimes it at first it appears to be disastrous. God is weaving a beautiful picture in your life. When it’s only partly finished it is hard to see the beauty of it. This is where faith enters in. You have BIG faith, Eric!
    Carol Zurbuchen

  6. […] Posts & Pages Heroes, Role Models and RealityThat's Just Like God …Help!A 180/360-Degree Turn in My LifeFar From the Worst …Identity […]

Leave a Reply

